Newcomers faced rough odds in SGA General Election


Image: Jenna Eason

Students gather to see who’s on the SGA General Election winner’s banner. Pictured from left to right: Jordan Price, Pornchai Chantha, Alexandra Kirschbaum, Millie Smith, Matthew Long.

Sarah Pounds, News Editor

In the latest SGA General Election, there were eleven newcomers on the ballot for various races, but Mallory Sammons, Natalie Ross, Jordan Price and Brandon Tran were the only ones to make it onto the winner’s banner.

For the Senator at Large race in particular, there were several individuals competing for a spot at the SGA table that have never been a part of Senate before including Samukai Sarnor, Desirrae Jones, Justin Baxley and Jessica Landress. In addition, Simeon Cullens ran for an at-large seat after being a class senator for his first few terms.

None of the students who ran for the at-large position with no prior experience as SGA senators were successful in their bids.

Timothy Lewis garnered the most votes of anyone in the race, with 543 of the 869 votes. To put that number in context: McKay and Scherf won the presidential race with 542 of 1007 votes.

The race for Sophomore Senator was the second largest competition, with eight rising-Sophomores vying for the five positions. Most of the students who were Freshman Senators were re-elected, with the exception of Spencer Jones. He lost to newcomer Mallory Sammons 142 to 138.

Alexandra Kirschbaum was re-elected class president.



The junior class race was a bit of an anomaly. Only four students ran for five seats, so each person was guaranteed a spot with one seat left open. That means there will be a Special Election next fall to fill the empty seat.

This will be Olivia Buckner’s third term as class president and Natalie Ross’s first time as a senator.

The Senior Senator’s race had the best results for newcomers. The top three seats went to incumbents and the other two positions went to Jordan Price — who has only ever been the parliamentarian on SGA’s Executive Board — and Brandon Tran, a newcomer.

Millie Smith was elected class president.